Thursday, January 3, 2019

Astro2020: Co-Chairs announced, Deadline Extended and AAS 233 Astro2020 Town Hall on Wed Jan 9

The National Academy of Sciences has appointed Fiona Harrison and Robert Kennicutt Jr. to co-chair the upcoming Decadal Survey of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Astro2020. We encourage our community members to strongly consider having their voices and priorities for the next decade heard through white paper submissions, especially our junior, female and/or underrepresented minority professionals and those served by AAS diversity committees.

Please also consider attending the Decadal Survey Town Hall and Astro2020 Status Report at the upcoming AAS 233 meeting in Seattle, Wed. Jan. 9, 6:30-8 PM, Room 6B.

Anyone wishing to provide scientific input to Astro2020 now has an extra month to do so. The window for submitting science white papers opens at 12:01 am Eastern Time on Monday, 7 January 2019 and submissions will be accepted through 5:00 pm ET on Tuesday, 19 February 2019. This call is only for science white papers.  Later calls are anticipated for other topics, like missions, facilities, policy, and the state of the profession.

See recent AAS posts on more info., and NAS site for Astro2020: